The Dodgers’ Ron Cey Contributes 7″ to Baseball History

When I was a kid growing up in LA, I was a huge Dodgers fan.  Not these current Manny Dodgers, my Dodgers had Steve Garvey, Davey Lopes, Dusty Baker, and of course the man known as the Penguin, Ron Cey.  These Dodgers would always do autograph signings at local department stores, whether it was Garvey at the Broadway or Lopes at Orbach’s, you could always count on grabbing a few star autographs during the off-season.  Most of the time the guys would sign pictures, baseballs, baseball cards, etc….so imagine my youthful glee as I stepped up to the table to meet Ron Cey only to discover he was selling a homemade 7″ single he’d recorded featuring two country-tinged pop songs, “Third Base Bag” and “One Game at a Time”.   I really don’t know what Cey was thinking, but obviously somebody convinced him it was a good idea.  I’m guessing it was one Clyde Curtis Ligons, the madman credited with writing both songs.  Now, for the first time on the internet, Ron Cey’s seven inches is available for all Dodger fans and baseball historians to enjoy.  

Download the record here: http://rapidshare.com/files/238254873/Ron_Cey_45.zip

Published in: on May 28, 2009 at 6:39 pm  Comments (1)